Quadro FX 5800

Moderator: BarsMonster

Post Reply [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
DarkPrince
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 5:50 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Quadro FX 5800

Post by DarkPrince » Thu Nov 13, 2008 1:52 pm

CUDA Parallel Processor Cores 240
Memory Size Total 4 GB
Memory Bandwidth 102 GB/s
Number of Slots 2
Maximum Power Consumption 189W

http://www.nvidia.com/object/product_qu ... 00_us.html

$3,500
:crazy:

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Quadro FX 5800

Post by BarsMonster » Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:43 pm

I am so happy that BarsWF does not need that much memory :-) So that simple GTX280 would be better :crazy:

User avatar
the_drag0n
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 6:48 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Quadro FX 5800

Post by the_drag0n » Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:52 pm

heh that would be usefull for rainbowtables :P

neinbrucke
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2008 8:53 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Quadro FX 5800

Post by neinbrucke » Thu Nov 13, 2008 3:26 pm

would that really be useful for rainbowtables? you only need to store endpoints, but i don't know how often you can transfer your generated chains from GPU memory to the host without creating too much overhead. (as i understand, those copy actions are about the most expensive actions on doing GPU stuff)

Sc00bz
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 8:28 am
Contact:

Re: Quadro FX 5800

Post by Sc00bz » Thu Nov 13, 2008 5:16 pm

You would totally use this for sorting the chains. So while generating the chains you fill like 99% the memory with chains then sort it all and copy it to the host. While it's copying to the host you start filling the other the extra 1% with chains. Then the host will remove merged chains and write it to disk. Once you're done with generating all the chains needed you would merge the sorted parts together while removing merged chains.

It might be smart to save the unsorted data to disk in case of power failure or system crash while generating since it will take like 9 hours to fill the memory.

Also if you had several computers with cards on a LAN you might want to do a bucket sort then use bitonic sort then merge. This makes it much easier to generate the tables in steps. Yeah I don't think I'll ever have time to write that.

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Quadro FX 5800

Post by BarsMonster » Thu Nov 13, 2008 7:51 pm

Sc00bz wrote:While it's copying to the host you start filling the other the extra 1% with chains.
Blame nVidia, it's not going to work like that. Right now you cannot copy data during kernel execution.
AMD claims that they support that.

Bitweasil
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 6:50 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Quadro FX 5800

Post by Bitweasil » Fri Nov 14, 2008 7:34 am

The time for the GPU to generate hashes is significantly longer than the time it takes the CPU to sort them. There's no real point in using the GPU to sort things.

And for $3500, I can get a lot more total processing power. Easily 5x more.

Sc00bz
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 8:28 am
Contact:

Re: Quadro FX 5800

Post by Sc00bz » Fri Nov 14, 2008 10:38 am

BarsMonster wrote:
Sc00bz wrote:While it's copying to the host you start filling the other the extra 1% with chains.
Blame nVidia, it's not going to work like that. Right now you cannot copy data during kernel execution.
AMD claims that they support that.
Check out the CUDA SDK project simpleStreams. "This sample illustrates the usage of CUDA streams for overlapping kernel execution with device/host memcopies."

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Quadro FX 5800

Post by BarsMonster » Fri Nov 14, 2008 11:08 am

Sc00bz wrote:Check out the CUDA SDK project simpleStreams. "This sample illustrates the usage of CUDA streams for overlapping kernel execution with device/host memcopies."
Yeah, it is nice, but does not work for now :-)

Post Reply
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest