idea - charSet enhancement

Moderator: BarsMonster

Post Reply [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
_haxxor_
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 7:57 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

idea - charSet enhancement

Post by _haxxor_ » Sat Jul 24, 2010 1:40 pm

Each and every time you use a bruteforcer, you need to configure it manually and choose a specific charset.

Why not go through a combination of charsets in the ascending order of the keyspace ?

Let me explain.
You have barsWF running on a box @1000 Mhashes/sec.

Code: Select all

                 charset              |  keyspace (2^x) |       time 
mixalpha-symbol32#1-6                 |  38.37          |   5.92 min 
mixalpha-numeric-symbol32#1-6         |  39.35          |  11.68 min
mixalpha#1-7                          |  39.93          |  17.46 min
numeric#1-12                          |  40.02          |  18.58 min 
loweralpha-symbol32#1-7               |  41.03          |  37.42 min
loweralpha-numeric#1-8                |  41.4           |  48.36 min
numeric-space#1-12                    |  41.65          |  57.51 min 
mixalpha-numeric#1-7                  |  41.7           |  59.53 min
loweralpha#1-9                        |  42.36          |  97.08 min
loweralpha-numeric-symbol32#1-7       |  42.64          |  1h 54 min
numeric#1-13                          |  43.34          |  3h 05 min
mixalpha-symbol32#1-7                 |  44.74          |  8h 10 min
mixalpha#1-8                          |  45.64          | 15h 14 min
In this way you don't need to stop the bruteforcer each and every time.
Just read the configuration from a file, and let it run.

One can create a bruteforcer that would only run the intersection between the current charset and all that was ran before it, in order to avoid duplicates.

For example, you first run mixalpha-symbol32#1-6, when you're finished with that, you start with mixalpha-numeric-symbol32#1-6, but as you can see the first configuration is included in the second, so you need to "jump" over it, bruteforcing only the "intersection" between them. Or just start from the second config.

What do you think ?

User avatar
Rolf
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 10:48 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: idea - charSet enhancement

Post by Rolf » Sat Jul 24, 2010 3:57 pm

Good idea.
However, it may require some optimizations to reduce overhead.Like tweaking the min lengths of some charsets, maybe consuming some to reduce overall time and increase keyspace.
But, honestly, why bruteforce single hash when there are rainbow tables?
Yet it's better to do some bruteforcing if you lack disk space and have 4 GTX 295 :)

issue
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 1:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: idea - charSet enhancement

Post by issue » Mon Jul 26, 2010 6:26 pm

I think a batch file can do that sucessfully.
Also, you can add an extra line between each command, if you want to give some
rest to the GPU (10/20 seconds) before next batch line being executed, by using
this free software

Code: Select all

ftp://ftp.sac.sk/pub/sac/utiltask/sleep_47.zip
.
Just my two cents.

User avatar
Rolf
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 10:48 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: idea - charSet enhancement

Post by Rolf » Mon Jul 26, 2010 7:45 pm

Since it is actually com converted to exe, it doesnt run on x64.
Too bad.
I wonder why M$ didnt think of a such useful command ?
Oh, I think it's possible to write a VBScript OR Javascript(Since Win can work with it), which will contain something like:
run app1
run app2
...
sleep N

Any VB/JS Gurus ? :)

Post Reply
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest