How to use barswf with $1$ hashes ?

Moderator: BarsMonster

Post Reply [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
davidmarli
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 1:33 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

How to use barswf with $1$ hashes ?

Post by davidmarli » Wed Dec 15, 2010 2:36 pm

Hello,

first I want to apologize fo my english, this is not my mother langage.
I discover Barswf on the web, so I want to learn more about it.
I just want to use it with my computer and i don't understand how it work

So on my etc/shadow file i have sush a hash :

$1$MEJXt9PI$DtcXYgjrxqU8F0LqgCZCR1

the no hash password is simply 'david'.
When I want to use barswf to recover this password I use the following command line !

f:\barswf -h MEJXt9PI$DtcXYgjrxqU8F0LqgCZCR1 -c a (md5(unix) i think)

Then it says "it is not a 32 hex number" (of course it has only 31 caracters!
But if I use this command line

f:\barswf -h $MEJXt9PI$DtcXYgjrxqU8F0LqgCZCR1 -c a

My password is never discovered.

So Couls someoine take a few minutes to explain to me how it works ?

Thanks a lot

Sc00bz
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 8:28 am
Contact:

Re: How to use barswf with $1$ hashes ?

Post by Sc00bz » Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:36 pm

BarsWF does work with md5(unix) hashes just plain unslated md5 hashes.
Interesting it appears that he's only checking to see if it is 32 characters long. This is a bug you should only be able to input characters that are hex ("012345789abcdef" or "0123456789ABCDEF").


md5("david") is 172522ec1028ab781d9dfd17eaca4427

So you would do:
f:\barswf -h 172522ec1028ab781d9dfd17eaca4427 -c a

davidmarli
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 1:33 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How to use barswf with $1$ hashes ?

Post by davidmarli » Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:21 pm

So, what if my hash is : $1$DZo.1kiM$OXZrlz/mBmoEABWPovukU.
What can I do with barswf ? It just can't run with it ?

Thanks

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How to use barswf with $1$ hashes ?

Post by BarsMonster » Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:39 pm

davidmarli wrote:So, what if my hash is : $1$DZo.1kiM$OXZrlz/mBmoEABWPovukU.
What can I do with barswf ? It just can't run with it ?

Thanks
Yes, you need unix md5 cracker, BarsWF is not one of them.

davidmarli
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 1:33 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How to use barswf with $1$ hashes ?

Post by davidmarli » Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:12 pm

ok.

I found passwordpro. But it is only cpu capable. So I can 10000 p/s (with my E8400@3,6Ghz)
For passwords with 4 or 5 caracters (respectively 4h and 2days) it is ok, but after that it take too much time (some months !!)

Does someone know another soft ?

Thanks a lot.

Post Reply
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest