Problems Running Cuda version

Moderator: BarsMonster

User avatar
easteregg
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 2:39 pm
Contact:

Problems Running Cuda version

Post by easteregg » Mon Oct 13, 2008 2:41 pm

hello, im really impressed of your work, your cracker is awesome fast!
but if use the cude version i get this and the hole application is fucked up:

Code: Select all

╔═══════════════════════════════════════════════════════════╗
║ BarsWF MD5 bruteforcer v0.8 ¨       http://3.14.by/en/md5 ║
║ by Svarychevski Michail             http://3.14.by/ru/md5 ║
Ã───────────────────────────────────────────────────────────Â
║    GPU0:  343.09 MHash/sec     CPU0:    0.00 MHash/sec    ║
║    GPU1:    0.00 MHash/sec     CPU1:    0.00 MHash/sec    ║
║                                CPU2:    0.00 MHash/sec    ║
║                                CPU3:    0.00 MHash/sec    ║
║                                                           ║
║    GPU*:  343.09 MHash/sec     CPU*:    0.00 MHash/sec    ║
Ã───────────────────────────────────────────────────────────Â
║ Key: PHAJCHC              Avg.Total:   52.71 MHash/sec    ║
║ Hash:0c8431e3920b20d37efef4864200aa37                     ║
║ Progress:  1.34 % ETC    0 days  0 hours  2 min 30 sec    ║
╚═══════════════════════════════════════════════════════════╝
^CCUDA kernel error: invalid device pointer══════════════════
got and 8800GT and a 8400GS with the latest cuda drivers running on Vista x64
i get the same error with the 32bit and 64bit cracker.

any hints?
<| 2 AMD Opterons 2384@ 8x3,2ghz | Tyan S2915 | 10GB 667REG ECC Ram | Nvidia 8800GT | Nvidia 8400GS | Maxtor Atlas II 15K |>

User avatar
the_drag0n
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 6:48 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Problems Running Cuda version

Post by the_drag0n » Mon Oct 13, 2008 2:57 pm

8400GS doesnt support cuda i think. that might be an problem.

User avatar
easteregg
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 2:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Problems Running Cuda version

Post by easteregg » Mon Oct 13, 2008 3:14 pm

sure it does, i used successfully the folding at home cuda client on this card.
<| 2 AMD Opterons 2384@ 8x3,2ghz | Tyan S2915 | 10GB 667REG ECC Ram | Nvidia 8800GT | Nvidia 8400GS | Maxtor Atlas II 15K |>

User avatar
the_drag0n
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 6:48 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Problems Running Cuda version

Post by the_drag0n » Mon Oct 13, 2008 3:17 pm

yor right. still it could be the two different cards. anyway youll have to wait till BarsMonster reads this and he will surely be able to help you.

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Problems Running Cuda version

Post by BarsMonster » Mon Oct 13, 2008 3:17 pm

Hmm... Is it crashing at this point or what? Update: Ops, I see the error, nice.
Could you try it with your cards by one? (i.e. 8400 alone first, then your second card alone)
Different cards were working ok up to this point.

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Problems Running Cuda version

Post by BarsMonster » Mon Oct 13, 2008 3:24 pm

How much memory does your 8400GS have?

User avatar
easteregg
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 2:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Problems Running Cuda version

Post by easteregg » Mon Oct 13, 2008 3:57 pm

256mges, once i provoked another errormessage, but couldnt save it, ill try to reproduce this message!
<| 2 AMD Opterons 2384@ 8x3,2ghz | Tyan S2915 | 10GB 667REG ECC Ram | Nvidia 8800GT | Nvidia 8400GS | Maxtor Atlas II 15K |>

User avatar
easteregg
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 2:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Problems Running Cuda version

Post by easteregg » Mon Oct 13, 2008 3:58 pm

Code: Select all

requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
plication's support team for more information.
se, file .\global.cpp, line 92

requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
plication's support team for more information.
se, file .\global.cpp, line 92

requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
plication's support team for more information.
se, file .\global.cpp, line 92

requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
plication's support team for more information.

requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
plication's support team for more information.

requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
plication's support team for more information.

requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
plication's support team for more information.

requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
plication's support team for more information.

requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
plication's support team for more information.

requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
plication's support team for more information.

requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
plication's support team for more information.
this together with the "***.exe has stopped working" error...
<| 2 AMD Opterons 2384@ 8x3,2ghz | Tyan S2915 | 10GB 667REG ECC Ram | Nvidia 8800GT | Nvidia 8400GS | Maxtor Atlas II 15K |>

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Problems Running Cuda version

Post by BarsMonster » Mon Oct 13, 2008 4:02 pm

Ok, second one is normal when one of threads hang for some reason...
In this case the reason might be unsuccessful memory allocation of 8400GS.
Check out for new version in 1-4 hours.

User avatar
easteregg
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 2:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Problems Running Cuda version

Post by easteregg » Mon Oct 13, 2008 4:05 pm

nice, sitting on a hot seat :)
<| 2 AMD Opterons 2384@ 8x3,2ghz | Tyan S2915 | 10GB 667REG ECC Ram | Nvidia 8800GT | Nvidia 8400GS | Maxtor Atlas II 15K |>

User avatar
the_drag0n
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 6:48 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Problems Running Cuda version

Post by the_drag0n » Mon Oct 13, 2008 4:21 pm

will there also be some new features ? ;)
Unfortunately, just bugfixing :sad:

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Problems Running Cuda version

Post by BarsMonster » Mon Oct 13, 2008 6:13 pm

Damn, I edited message again instead reply... Someone, take away moderator permissions from me :crazy:

User avatar
the_drag0n
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 6:48 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Problems Running Cuda version

Post by the_drag0n » Mon Oct 13, 2008 6:50 pm

lol xD

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Problems Running Cuda version

Post by BarsMonster » Mon Oct 13, 2008 8:50 pm

Ok, it appeared not so easy :-)
I'll take some sleep and will return to this at morning.

User avatar
easteregg
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 2:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Problems Running Cuda version

Post by easteregg » Mon Oct 13, 2008 10:08 pm

alright ;)
so have a good night!
i hope tomorrow it will be clear ;)
<| 2 AMD Opterons 2384@ 8x3,2ghz | Tyan S2915 | 10GB 667REG ECC Ram | Nvidia 8800GT | Nvidia 8400GS | Maxtor Atlas II 15K |>

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Problems Running Cuda version

Post by BarsMonster » Tue Oct 14, 2008 9:50 pm

Try this thing: http://3.14.by/files/test.zip
Required less video memory, minor bugfixing. Let me know ASAP if it solved your problem or not.

User avatar
easteregg
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 2:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Problems Running Cuda version

Post by easteregg » Tue Oct 14, 2008 11:06 pm

same error.

btw for troubeshooting.
the 8400GS got 2 monitors with 1600x1200x32bit, the 8800GT only one of this kind.
<| 2 AMD Opterons 2384@ 8x3,2ghz | Tyan S2915 | 10GB 667REG ECC Ram | Nvidia 8800GT | Nvidia 8400GS | Maxtor Atlas II 15K |>

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Problems Running Cuda version

Post by BarsMonster » Tue Oct 14, 2008 11:11 pm

Could you try with -grid_n 16 -thread_n 16 something like this
Does it depent on these settings?

User avatar
easteregg
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 2:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Problems Running Cuda version

Post by easteregg » Tue Oct 14, 2008 11:20 pm

Code: Select all

BarsWF_CUDA_x32.exe -h 0c8431e3920b20d37efef4864200aa37 -c A -grid_n 16 -thread_n 16 -min_len 7 -gpu_time 50
no difference... ;)
<| 2 AMD Opterons 2384@ 8x3,2ghz | Tyan S2915 | 10GB 667REG ECC Ram | Nvidia 8800GT | Nvidia 8400GS | Maxtor Atlas II 15K |>

User avatar
easteregg
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 2:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Problems Running Cuda version

Post by easteregg » Tue Oct 14, 2008 11:39 pm

k some valueable informations:

if i disable all monitors but the mainmonitor on my 8800GT i have something around 370mio hashes a sec running fine and stable.
if i disable all but one at the 8400GS, i have something around 40mio a sec.

in both cases, there is only one GPU recognized (always as GPU0)

if i enable one monitor on the 8800GT and one on the 8400GS -> error
both monitors on the 8400GS and none at the 8800GT -> error
all 3 monitors -> error...

and plz :D optimize it for amd dualcore opterons, 10-13 mio hashes a sec is very poor compared to the intels or phenom performance :P
<| 2 AMD Opterons 2384@ 8x3,2ghz | Tyan S2915 | 10GB 667REG ECC Ram | Nvidia 8800GT | Nvidia 8400GS | Maxtor Atlas II 15K |>

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Problems Running Cuda version

Post by BarsMonster » Wed Oct 15, 2008 12:27 am

easteregg wrote:and plz :D optimize it for amd dualcore opterons, 10-13 mio hashes a sec is very poor compared to the intels or phenom performance :P
Well, phenom & opteron dual core performance per core per Mhz should be very close.
Intel P4 might be even slower than Opterons, so this is not Intel specific optimization, it is just very nice job of Intel engis making SSE2 core of Core2Duo processor capable doing 3x128bit instructions per cycle.
Let's hope AMD Kuma would be better at SSE2 :-D

User avatar
easteregg
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 2:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Problems Running Cuda version

Post by easteregg » Wed Oct 15, 2008 4:41 pm

its not a quad opteron processor based on the the barcelona core, but its a dual-dualcore-cpu system based on the santa rosa core, socket F
<| 2 AMD Opterons 2384@ 8x3,2ghz | Tyan S2915 | 10GB 667REG ECC Ram | Nvidia 8800GT | Nvidia 8400GS | Maxtor Atlas II 15K |>

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Problems Running Cuda version

Post by BarsMonster » Wed Oct 15, 2008 5:45 pm

easteregg wrote:its not a quad opteron processor based on the the barcelona core, but its a dual-dualcore-cpu system based on the santa rosa core, socket F
Opteron 165@1.8Ghz in 32bit mode shows the same speed - 11.5MHash/sec, and that speed is expected.

User avatar
easteregg
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 2:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Problems Running Cuda version

Post by easteregg » Wed Oct 15, 2008 6:35 pm

damn, i need some quad babys ;)
what about the GPU Problem?
<| 2 AMD Opterons 2384@ 8x3,2ghz | Tyan S2915 | 10GB 667REG ECC Ram | Nvidia 8800GT | Nvidia 8400GS | Maxtor Atlas II 15K |>

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Problems Running Cuda version

Post by BarsMonster » Wed Oct 15, 2008 8:07 pm

easteregg wrote:damn, i need some quad babys ;)
what about the GPU Problem?
Intel Quad preferably :-)
I am asking about this problem on nVidia CUDA forum, I am ran out of ideas :-S

Let's wait what they would say: http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?act= ... 79667&st=0

Post Reply
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest