How high can you get

Moderator: BarsMonster

Post Reply
knapish
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:09 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by knapish » Sat Jan 10, 2009 4:48 pm

remo wrote:knapisch which card oo? wtf:D


got 1.1-1.2kkk hash/s whit 4870 1gb not oced


but.. b4 i got arroung 200m and more with my q9550 @3.4

now i only get 100m? bug?
4870 512mb by ASUS, i think its just a bug but i dont know :) will be nice to see what mr bars has to say!

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by BarsMonster » Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:11 pm

knapish wrote:
BarsMonster wrote:This is defenetly a leader :-)
Image

it it still working if the cal failed? cause i get kinda high also :D :D 8-)
http://3.14.by/forum/download/file.php?mode=view&id=32
Do you use latest 8.12 driver?
It said falling back to CPU, but I've stripped CPU part of brook as it took 5 minutes to compile :-D
So this might be the reason.

knapish
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:09 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by knapish » Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:14 pm

BarsMonster wrote:
knapish wrote:
BarsMonster wrote:This is defenetly a leader :-)
Image

it it still working if the cal failed? cause i get kinda high also :D :D 8-)
http://3.14.by/forum/download/file.php?mode=view&id=32
Do you use latest 8.12 driver?
It said falling back to CPU, but I've stripped CPU part of brook as it took 5 minutes to compile :-D
So this might be the reason.

Driver Packaging Version 8.552-081028a-070226C-ATI
Catalyst® Version 08.11
Provider ATI Technologies Inc.
2D Driver Version 6.14.10.6879
2D Driver File Path System/CurrentControlSet/Control/Video/{493E0994-6530-461A-934F-32F9B958E332}/0000
Direct3D Version 6.14.10.0621
OpenGL Version 6.14.10.8201
Catalyst® Control Center Version 2008.1028.2134.36851
AIW/VIVO WDM Driver Version 6.14.10.6238
AIW/VIVO WDM SP Driver Version 6.14.10.6238

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by BarsMonster » Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:17 pm

Catalyst® Version 08.11
I should start bundling a faq with the program :-)

twobombs
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 12:12 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by twobombs » Sun Jan 18, 2009 12:17 pm

Image

2x2 Opteron2210@2300Mhz on dualsocket KFN5D
1x Zoltec GF260GTX-c216@675Mhz core x 1225Mhz Memory
4 GByte of RAM, XP64

Image

and also an Ageia card that sat idle. Highest Wattage measured at the socket ever; almost 500W ( with tft monitor ~60W attached )
The GF260 has a separate vidcard PSU, so power could very well be a problem for some ppl reporting crashes/lockups.....
This program is almost doubling the previous ELCOMsoft score without any HW upgrade, but OMG what terrible cpu scores :)

Kudos to Belarus' engineering prowess !

Edit: GF260c216 core/memory setting as requested by mbr. for more insight.
Advice: just as the ELCOMsoft bruteforcer its good to use a secondary interface and move the output screen to the secondary adapter for a higher score.
Update2: after increasing shader clock to 1480 on top of the current OCL I could push the single GPU to 750.
Last edited by twobombs on Sun Jan 25, 2009 10:23 pm, edited 10 times in total.

mrb
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 6:04 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by mrb » Sun Jan 18, 2009 4:17 pm

twobombs, do you confirm these numbers: you overclocked the core from the default (576 MHz) to 675 MHz, and slightly underclocked the shaders from the default (1242 MHz) to 1225 MHz ? It's funny that it allows you to reach 725 Mhash/sec... Because I know a GTX 280 (core 602 MHz, shaders 1296 MHz) scores about 720 Mhash/sec as well. Therefore it means the core MHz has much more influence on BarsWF's performance than I thought.

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by BarsMonster » Sun Jan 18, 2009 7:15 pm

Yes, core clock(shader domain) increase BarsWF performance linearly. Other parts have very little influence.
Increasing just shader clock might give the same performance with less power consumption, less heat, and possible higher clocks.

mrb
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 6:04 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by mrb » Sun Jan 18, 2009 9:56 pm

BarsMonster wrote: Yes, core clock(shader domain) increase BarsWF performance linearly.
Suddenly I am all confused :crazy: Did you mean to write core clock, or shader clock in that sentence (they are 2 different things) ?

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by BarsMonster » Sun Jan 18, 2009 10:30 pm

mrb wrote:
BarsMonster wrote: Yes, core clock(shader domain) increase BarsWF performance linearly.
Suddenly I am all confused :crazy: Did you mean to write core clock, or shader clock in that sentence (they are 2 different things) ?
I see :-)
Well, shader clock is the most important :-)
But one can do some benchmarks :-)

Arcanisia
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 9:55 am
Location: France
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by Arcanisia » Mon Jan 19, 2009 6:05 pm

Q9450 @ 3Ghz
XFX GTX 280 XXX
4Gb DDR3
Vista 64

Default (670/1458/1250 = core/shader/memory)
Image

OC (670/1750/1250) :joy:
Image

Shaders @ 1750mhz is the best I could get without crashing my comp :crazy:
Overclocking core clock or memory clock don't change cracking speed, only shaders.

Would love to see some benchs with 285 and 295 plz :D

remo
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 4:30 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by remo » Mon Jan 19, 2009 6:31 pm

http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=2wncp.jpg


4870 pcs 1gb 825 925
q9550 @3.4

mrb
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 6:04 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by mrb » Tue Jan 20, 2009 6:14 am

BarsMonster wrote: I see :-)
Well, shader clock is the most important :-)
But one can do some benchmarks :-)
Yeah I was just confused when twobombs reported that overclocking the core clock increased BarsWF's perf (which is not normal, only the shader clock should impact performance). Anyway he now editted his post to make it clear he overclocked the shaders as well, that explains everything.

User avatar
the_drag0n
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 6:48 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by the_drag0n » Thu Jan 22, 2009 4:27 pm

Phenom II 940 is now down to 225$ (175€)
and 920 to 195$ (150€) i might get one of these soon :)

x4d3
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:10 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by x4d3 » Sun Jan 25, 2009 7:04 am

Spaztikdude wrote:Nope, that's nowhere near the record.

http://blog.red-database-security.com/2 ... cer-barswf

3611.81 MHash/sec :o
Actually, I need to update that screenshot with the new values we got after a few optimizations on the software and the hardware. Updated the cooling system and did some overclocks.

Thinking about upgrade the four 9800GX2 system with four GTX295. Will post another screenshot if we do the upgrade.

I've been absent of the forums for a few months due to some business. I still owe the readers a Linux port of BarsWF. I will still honor that promise :) .

Meanwhile, here is a another screenshot:

MD5
Image
NTLM
Image
MSCASH (not released version.)
Image

(GPU0 is 'one core' of the gtx295. GPU1 is the gtx280. The second core of the gtx295 didnt show up due to stupid vista requirement to have a real monitor plugged to allow cuda recognizes the gpu.)
Intel i7 @ 2.8ghz (HT is on)
Evga GTX280 @ default clocks
Evga GTX295 @ default clocks
Last edited by x4d3 on Sun Jan 25, 2009 7:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by BarsMonster » Sun Jan 25, 2009 7:13 am

The second core of the gtx295 didnt show up due to stupid vista requirement to have a real monitor plugged so cuda recognizes the gpu
Hmm, could you try latest videodriver? AFAIK it was fixed

x4d3
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:10 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by x4d3 » Sun Jan 25, 2009 7:18 am

Updating driver right now. Will post an update in a second.

x4d3
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:10 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by x4d3 » Sun Jan 25, 2009 7:23 am

Just tryed 181.22, and same thing. It won't regonize the GPU if there is no display connected.

dJe781
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 12:33 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by dJe781 » Wed Jan 28, 2009 12:35 am

I'm experiencing the same problem on XP SP3 with a GTX 295 and 181.22 WHQL drivers.

Edit : Erm, I guess that 700 Mhash/s means that both of my GPUs are working
Image
Gainward GTX 295 with default clocks and i7-920 @ 3.6 GHz

Sc00bz
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 8:28 am
Contact:

Re: How high can you get

Post by Sc00bz » Wed Jan 28, 2009 2:41 am

dJe781 wrote:Edit : Erm, I guess that 700 Mhash/s means that both of my GPUs are working
You need to disable SLI for both of them to work in CUDA. Once you do that you'll get 1600 Mhash/s instead of 900 Mhash/s.

dJe781
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 12:33 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by dJe781 » Wed Jan 28, 2009 9:45 am

Is there any way to improve SLI support ?
As I'm using a Dual-View setup, I had to buy a cheap video card to enable multi-monitoring while using SLI, so I'd be pretty pissed if I had to turn SLI off since I'm not planning on having to reboot everytime I want to launch BarsWF or not :/

Edit : Ok, nevermind, I can switch SLI on and off without having to reboot with minor app closings.
Thank you anyway.

Image

User avatar
s0l
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 6:51 pm
Location: Dance Rainbowmonkey! Dance!
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by s0l » Wed Jan 28, 2009 6:53 pm

what are your specs dJe781?

dJe781
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 12:33 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by dJe781 » Wed Jan 28, 2009 10:31 pm

As I wrote just above ;) : i7-920 @ 3.6 GHz HT enabled + Gainward GTX 295 with default clocks, and 181.22 WHQL drivers.

User avatar
s0l
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 6:51 pm
Location: Dance Rainbowmonkey! Dance!
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by s0l » Thu Jan 29, 2009 12:33 am

Awesome, thanks a lot, sorry I couldn't find the specs but I see them now :lol:

Just to confirm for myself, the difference between the images in your first post and the second is that you disabled SLI?
Sorry about the stupid questions, but I ask because I am looking at getting a similar setup... and I wonder, you did say you had only one gtx 295 correct? How can you enable/disable SLI with only one card, doesn't it require two to be active?

Yes I realize the GTX 295 has two cores.

User avatar
the_drag0n
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 6:48 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by the_drag0n » Thu Jan 29, 2009 11:00 am

s0l wrote:what are your specs dJe781?
intel i7 plus gtx295...

User avatar
s0l
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 6:51 pm
Location: Dance Rainbowmonkey! Dance!
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by s0l » Fri Jan 30, 2009 9:38 am

thx drag0n :mrgreen:

Post Reply
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest