How high can you get

Moderator: BarsMonster

Post Reply
x4d3
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:10 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

How high can you get

Post by x4d3 » Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:21 am

Just to share the numbers with the community. I am doing some tweak on the hardware and software. Should post new screenshots in the next few days with the new numbers.

Expect to get around 3.9 billions/s for MD5.

This is only one machine. A cluster of those is on the way. All credits to Michail for the code.

4x [eVGA 9800GX2] (no oc)
ImageImage
Image

Please post the card model and if it is overclocked or not. Thank you.

Edit: included the card models.

UPDATE 02/24/2009: Go to this post for new numbers http://3.14.by/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8& ... 1643#p1643 .
Last edited by x4d3 on Tue Feb 24, 2009 4:09 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
the_drag0n
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 6:48 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by the_drag0n » Tue Oct 14, 2008 7:07 am

woooh nice ;) will you join the distributed project ? ;)

with maximum overclocking (cpu 400Mhz gpu 100/100 Mhz more) i get up to 411
Attachments
a.gif
a.gif (10.41 KiB) Viewed 25702 times

Frankie00rz
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 3:43 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by Frankie00rz » Tue Oct 14, 2008 7:14 am

ripped from RaidRush Forum

GeForce 8800 GTS 512
Image

BFG GTX260
Image

gf 8600 gt 1gb ram
Image

XFX 9800GX2
Image

8600 GT 256 mb
Image

GeForce 9500 GS
Image

8800GTS
Image

more ppl to post yah benchs now !!! ;-)

User avatar
the_drag0n
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 6:48 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by the_drag0n » Tue Oct 14, 2008 7:24 am

it was more about posting your bench rather then posting other's ;)

Sc00bz
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 8:28 am
Contact:

Re: How high can you get

Post by Sc00bz » Tue Oct 14, 2008 8:04 am

I like the first image x4d3 posted. The one that is a total ripoff of BarSW including the error with the first three lines of boarders being white instead of gray. Well that and the fact that it is 1/2 the speed.

User avatar
the_drag0n
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 6:48 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by the_drag0n » Tue Oct 14, 2008 8:37 am

errm its a mscache bruteforcer and prob it was written by bars ;)

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by BarsMonster » Tue Oct 14, 2008 9:55 am

x4d3 wrote:Expect to get around 3.9 billions/s for MD5.
I vote for 4.05 billions :-)

User avatar
easteregg
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 2:39 pm
Contact:

Re: How high can you get

Post by easteregg » Tue Oct 14, 2008 10:45 am

this projekt is highly intel optimized, isnt it?
my opterons reaching about 10mio. per sec, at 2,2ghz...
<| 2 AMD Opterons 2384@ 8x3,2ghz | Tyan S2915 | 10GB 667REG ECC Ram | Nvidia 8800GT | Nvidia 8400GS | Maxtor Atlas II 15K |>

User avatar
the_drag0n
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 6:48 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by the_drag0n » Tue Oct 14, 2008 10:48 am

erm thats not to much...
my cpu gets 25mio per core @ 2,2GHz
and 32mio per core @ 2,6GHz...

User avatar
easteregg
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 2:39 pm
Contact:

Re: How high can you get

Post by easteregg » Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:03 pm

intel or amd?
<| 2 AMD Opterons 2384@ 8x3,2ghz | Tyan S2915 | 10GB 667REG ECC Ram | Nvidia 8800GT | Nvidia 8400GS | Maxtor Atlas II 15K |>

User avatar
the_drag0n
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 6:48 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by the_drag0n » Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:34 pm

amd phenom 9550

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by BarsMonster » Tue Oct 14, 2008 1:15 pm

Well, it is not specifically optimized for intel, but SSE2 engine of Core2Duo processors is very very nice. It does 3 128bit instructions per cycle, that is awesome.
For example Intel Atom has very weak SSE2 core, so it is veeeeery slooooow on it.
Update: Intel P4 also does not look very good here

PS. E8500@4Ghz does 74 mio per core :crazy:

kiando
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 7:30 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by kiando » Tue Oct 14, 2008 1:17 pm

How to you access the SSE2 engine? Via assembler or are there c routines?

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by BarsMonster » Tue Oct 14, 2008 1:20 pm

kiando wrote:How to you access the SSE2 engine? Via assembler or are there c routines?
C++ intrinsics. Like this: (_mm_or_si128(_mm_and_si128(x,y), _mm_andnot_si128(x, z)))

x4d3
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:10 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by x4d3 » Tue Oct 14, 2008 2:36 pm

Sc00bz wrote:I like the first image x4d3 posted. The one that is a total ripoff of BarSW including the error with the first three lines of boarders being white instead of gray. Well that and the fact that it is 1/2 the speed.

It's all Bars, sir. :)

No ripoff.

B0ff
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:39 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by B0ff » Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:03 pm

BarsWF.JPG
Q6600, 2GB RAM, 2x 8600GT SLI, nothing oc
Could probably be better but vast improvement (around 16x) over what I was getting with previous tools :joy:

hardfalcon
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 11:33 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by hardfalcon » Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:08 pm

WOW, I wouldn't have thought a 8600GT has just 25% of a 8800GT... :shock:

Already looking forward to the version with ATI support, I'm seriously considering to sell my 8800GT and get a 4870 (perhaps even an 4870 X2)... :)

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by BarsMonster » Tue Oct 14, 2008 5:32 pm

hardfalcon wrote:WOW, I wouldn't have thought a 8600GT has just 25% of a 8800GT... :shock:
That's right, 32SP vs 112 :-)

If you want AMD card for GPGPU I guess 4850 would give you the same performance for less $ :-)
Hmm... Do they have 4850x2? That would be awesome thing :-)
Update: 4850x2 exist, for fraction of price difference between 4850x2 and 4870x2 you can get 4850x2 pre-overclocked with improved cooler :crazy:

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by BarsMonster » Tue Oct 14, 2008 5:34 pm

B0ff wrote:
BarsWF.JPG
Q6600, 2GB RAM, 2x 8600GT SLI, nothing oc
Could probably be better but vast improvement (around 16x) over what I was getting with previous tools :joy:
Disable SLI and you'll get extra 90 MHash/sec :-)

B0ff
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:39 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by B0ff » Tue Oct 14, 2008 6:30 pm

Disable SLI and you'll get extra 90 MHash/sec :-)
Now I'm even more impressed.. :shock:
BarsWF_2.JPG

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by BarsMonster » Tue Oct 14, 2008 7:28 pm

Ok, here goes my thing:
Core2Duo E8500 3.16->4Ghz
9600GT 650->769Mhz

Image

blazer
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 8:10 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by blazer » Tue Oct 14, 2008 11:29 pm

E8500 @ 3.16Ghz
9800GTX+ @ Stock Speeds

Image


p.s Hey bars did you get 20m more than me per core because of the o/c or of the 64bit?

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by BarsMonster » Wed Oct 15, 2008 12:14 am

blazer wrote:E8500 @ 3.16Ghz
9800GTX+ @ Stock Speeds

p.s Hey bars did you get 20m more than me per core because of the o/c or of the 64bit?
Both

c4p0ne
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by c4p0ne » Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:35 am

I need at least 40 Teraflops... Anyone offering? :wall: :lol:
Attachments
tooslow.png
tooslow.png (41.04 KiB) Viewed 22747 times
Last edited by c4p0ne on Sat Oct 18, 2008 6:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

c4p0ne
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by c4p0ne » Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:45 am

By the way, question... What kind of performance are we looking forward to in the upcoming Intel CORE i7 Octacore (actually, 4 cores with 2 threads/per core hyperthreading has reappeared) architecture? Also, we know about about the use of SSE2 instruction set to accelerate calculations, but what about SSE3, SSE4 and upcoming SSE4.1 and SSE4.2?

Post Reply
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest