[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 580: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 636: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
3.14.by forum • How high can you get - Page 7
Page 7 of 11

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 7:08 pm
by knapish
barswf_brook_32.JPG
barswf 4870
How sad doesnt it feel for you nvidia gtx 295 users? :crazy:

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 7:22 pm
by the_drag0n
knapish wrote: How sad doesnt it feel for you nvidia gtx 295 users? :crazy:
yeah they must feel sad for the 200M hashes more then yours dont they ?

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 7:31 pm
by knapish
the_drag0n wrote:
knapish wrote: How sad doesnt it feel for you nvidia gtx 295 users? :crazy:
yeah they must feel sad for the 200M hashes more then yours dont they ?
Erhm? 1400 if they have one 280 gtx and 295gtx together.. But then they pay 1.023,22USD$ more then me :) (794,81€ EURO)

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 7:53 pm
by s0l
Tigerdirect-

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications ... CatId=3669
Diamond Radeon HD 4870 X2 XOC Overclocked Video Card - 2GB GDDR5, PCI Express 2.0 x16, CrossFireX Ready, (Dual Link) Dual DVI, HDTV
Price: $539.99
Less Rebate: - $60.00
Final Price: $479.99

---------
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications ... CatId=3669
PNY GeForce GTX 295 Video Card - 1792MB GDDR3, 480 Cores, PCI-Express 2.0, (2) Dual Link DVI, HDMI, Quad SLI Support

Price: $499.99

---

What was that you were saying?

LOL btw does ATI just make this shit up? DirectX 10.1 compatibility? wtf? GDDR5? lol... does anyone believe this hype?

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 8:08 pm
by the_drag0n
knapish wrote: Erhm? 1400 if they have one 280 gtx and 295gtx together.. But then they pay 1.023,22USD$ more then me :) (794,81€ EURO)
errm no 1400M is with ONE gtx295...

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:05 pm
by Sc00bz
Radeon HD 4870 X2 for $539.99
GeForce GTX 295 for $499.99

1213.36*2/539.99= 4.49 MHash/sec/USD
706.32*2/499.99= 2.83 MHash/sec/USD

59% more cost effective to get a Radeon HD 4870 X2.

Anyway the price point is at Radeon HD 4850 which is around $150 and should get around 1000 MHash/sec (6.67 MHash/sec/USD).

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:11 pm
by mrb
knapish: based on your results, you overclocked the core to about 850 MHz, is that right ?

Scoobz: the 4850 provides indeed the best perf/$, and it is also equaled by the 4850 X2 which is around $300.

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:13 pm
by s0l
HELLO THE GTX 295 is DUAL CORE, can't you read???

706.32*2=1412.64Mhashes for 499.99
1213.36*1=1213.36Mhashes for 539.99

AMD stream only sees one core on the 4870x2 last I heard, most likely both cores only make 606.68 Mhashes each and it combines that number to show us the 1213.36 Mhashes.

Yes the 4850 Is the far better deal if you're just going to be using it in brooks, but there are more CUDA capable applications in the field of gpu cryptography than amd stream, so I'd rather use CUDA instead of buying two seperate systems, one ATI and one Nvidia.

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:56 pm
by mrb
s0l wrote: AMD stream only sees one core on the 4870x2 last I heard, most likely both cores only make 606.68 Mhashes each and it combines that number to show us the 1213.36 Mhashes.
No you are wrong. The "1213 Mhash/s" (actually 1070 Mhash/s when not overclocked) is with one GPU, one 4870. More evidence: http://3.14.by/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=126 The 4850 gets 918 Mhash/s, or about 83% the perf of a 4870 because its core clock frequency is 83% lower.

I develop Stream apps and AMD fixed the detection of number of GPUs with the 48xx X2 cards only recently on Windows (drivers 9.1). That's why all the 48xx X2 results you see in the forums show only "GPU0" and no "GPU1". Read the AMD Stream forums, Michail has not been able to have his X2 detected as 2 GPUs.

A 4870 X2 card with the right drivers, and the latest CAL 1.3 SDK will achieve about 2100 Mhash/sec with BarsWF, outperforming every Nvidia card.

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:57 pm
by s0l
A 4870 X2 card with the right drivers, and the latest CAL 1.3 SDK will achieve about 2100 Mhash/sec with BarsWF.
Well that makes more sense then. :D

Is there a version of RTgen that works with ATI Stream?

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Sun Feb 01, 2009 7:30 pm
by knapish
mrb wrote:knapish: based on your results, you overclocked the core to about 850 MHz, is that right ?
Well not realy, 840 mhz :crazy: but i think i can accomplish like 900mhz :crazy:

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Sun Feb 01, 2009 8:58 pm
by BarsMonster
knapish wrote:
mrb wrote:knapish: based on your results, you overclocked the core to about 850 MHz, is that right ?
Well not realy, 840 mhz :crazy: but i think i can accomplish like 900mhz :crazy:
What voltage? :wink:
I haven't tried more than 1.4v on mine :crazy:

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Sun Feb 01, 2009 9:32 pm
by Bitweasil
mrb wrote:A 4870 X2 card with the right drivers, and the latest CAL 1.3 SDK will achieve about 2100 Mhash/sec with BarsWF, outperforming every Nvidia card.
Having barrel shifters in hardware helps more than a little bit with most crypto algorithms...

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2009 10:11 am
by knapish
BarsMonster wrote:
knapish wrote:
mrb wrote:knapish: based on your results, you overclocked the core to about 850 MHz, is that right ?
Well not realy, 840 mhz :crazy: but i think i can accomplish like 900mhz :crazy:
What voltage? :wink:
I haven't tried more than 1.4v on mine :crazy:
How many keys/second did you get on 1.4v? ill check when i get home :crazy:

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:35 am
by mrb
s0l wrote:Is there a version of RTgen that works with ATI Stream?
As of today, no. That said, it is something I might consider working on after I am done with other projects.
Bitweasil wrote:Having barrel shifters in hardware helps more than a little bit with most crypto algorithms...
I don't know if R700 has barrel shifters... But thinking about it, it wouldn't be very complex to verify by doing some basic reverse engineering to figure out the latency & throughput of the R700 shift instructions (like the author of http://www.swox.com/doc/x86-timing.pdf did for x86 CPUs).

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:58 am
by the_drag0n
mrb wrote: As of today, no. That said, it is something I might consider working on after I am done with other projects.
You should talk to Bitweasil who is atm working at a cuda version. working together might result in faster and better results \o/ :)

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2009 3:12 pm
by mrb
the_drag0n wrote:You should talk to Bitweasil who is atm working at a cuda version. working together might result in faster and better results \o/ :)
I already told him I might consider writing a Stream version of an rtgen compatible with his. We also exchanged some ideas on IRC. You should join us: #cuda on freenode ;)

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2009 3:46 pm
by the_drag0n
heh yay irc ftw :P

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 4:08 am
by x4d3
Update:

NTLM:
Image

MSCACHE:
Image

MD5:
Image

4x [eVGA GTX295] (no oc)

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 9:08 am
by neinbrucke
lol... that's some nice speeds :)

btw, how come md5 is about as fast as md4? or is that just because you didn't put that much effort in md4 yet? (such as reversing)

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 12:44 pm
by Sc00bz
I am going to go with it's definitely not reversed, but just think if you do you'll get around 9191.42 MHash/sec (5553.15 * 48 / 29 = 9191.42).

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 1:18 pm
by BarsMonster
BTW, for these building massive GPU systems and worried about power consumption, I had some tested with 4870 under lowered voltage:

0.85v: 450Mhz 10W consumption
0.9v: 500Mhz
0.95v: 560Mhz ~30W consumption

So, 4x4870x2 at 0.95 would eat just 240W at 0.95v, which is not a killer.

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 2:33 pm
by x4d3
I think we reversed like, 1 step. I will actually see if I can do that today. That extra speed on ntlm would help me.

I will post all the specs of the machine later today.

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 2:43 pm
by x4d3
BarsMonster wrote:BTW, for these building massive GPU systems and worried about power consumption, I had some tested with 4870 under lowered voltage:

0.85v: 450Mhz 10W consumption
0.9v: 500Mhz
0.95v: 560Mhz ~30W consumption

So, 4x4870x2 at 0.95 would eat just 240W at 0.95v, which is not a killer.

Actually, power consumption is indeed a problem. We had to build two auxiliary circuits for the two machine (with 8 gpus each). The house almost, literally, went on fire when I just pluged them on the wall.

Wow are you seriously about those numbers? Right now I get like ~250w per gtx295. Thats like ~1050w per machine, when they are working at 100%. If I didn't have so much problems with AMD and brook (including poor support) I would have started this project on that platform since the beginning. With nvidia, everything just worked. No headaches.

Is it possible to lower the voltage for nvidia cards? I know you can mess with the clocks, but never tried the voltages.

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 2:49 pm
by BarsMonster
x4d3 wrote:Actually, power consumption is indeed a problem. We had to build two auxiliary circuits for the two machine (with 8 gpus each). The house almost, literally, went on fire when I just pluged them on the wall.

Wow are you seriously about those numbers? Right now I get like ~250w per gtx295. Thats like ~1050w per machine, when they are working at 100%. If I didn't have so much problems with AMD and brook (including poor support) I would have started this project on that platform since the beginning. With nvidia, everything just worked. No headaches.

Is it possible to lower the voltage for nvidia cards? I know you can mess with the clocks, but never tried the voltages.

Yes, I am serious. It appeared, that power consumption drops drastically with the voltage (15 times less power for 40% less performance).
For nVidia it is also possible, you may want to take a look at Nibitor (BIOS editor for nVidia cards) - it allows to flash different clocks/Mhz, not sure what is the tool to test voltage at runtime.