How high can you get

Moderator: BarsMonster

x4d3
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:10 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by x4d3 » Tue Feb 24, 2009 2:53 pm

You can test runtime voltage/temp/etc with GPU-z. I used Nibitor before to change clocks. I will get some tests going. Thank you.

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by BarsMonster » Tue Feb 24, 2009 3:12 pm

x4d3 wrote:You can test runtime voltage/temp/etc with GPU-z. I used Nibitor before to change clocks. I will get some tests going. Thank you.
I was meaning "set", GPU-z can show voltage AFAIK, but not sure if it can set voltage.

x4d3
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:10 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by x4d3 » Tue Feb 24, 2009 7:21 pm

budden wrote:
x4d3 wrote:Update:
Could you write your config? PSU and motherboard especially.
Right now I am using two 800W PSUs. One good 1200W PSU should be enough. The 800W PSU was just too cheap on newegg. :)

motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813130136
It's the MSI K9A2 Platinum. It comes with four PCIe slots (all double spaced).

protter
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 10:03 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by protter » Sun Mar 29, 2009 10:30 am

Asus N10J: Intel Atom N270 1.60 GHz, GeForce 9300M GS 256 Mb, Vista 32bits
Attachments
asusN10j.png
Asus N10J

badbob
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 12:10 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by badbob » Tue Mar 31, 2009 1:41 am

Ati 4870
Middle Class Intel Quad

Around 1.000 MHashes / second

Bitweasil
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 6:50 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by Bitweasil » Sat Apr 04, 2009 1:48 pm

As soon as my 3 GTX295s show up, I might be able to run some benchmarks.

x4d3
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:10 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by x4d3 » Sat Apr 04, 2009 4:54 pm

4x gtx295's bench already posted on the previous page :)

x4d3
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:10 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by x4d3 » Sun Apr 05, 2009 1:49 pm

Basicaly the gt200 serie is only a small upgrade over the previous serie (9xxx), only more SPs.

Which was only a small upgrade (in therms of technology) over the 8xxx, in some cases they even used the same processor from the 8xxx serie on some 9xxx cards.

They will release new cards with new technology this year.

Bitweasil
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 6:50 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by Bitweasil » Sun Apr 05, 2009 3:06 pm

The primary benefit of the GT200 cores (GTX*) over the G80/G92 cores (8000, 9000 series) is double the register count, and double precision floating point capabilities. Plus 192/216/240 stream processors vs the 128 max in everything previous (even the 9800GX2 was two 128 stream processor cards bound together into a single unit).

Another significant benefit of the GT200 cores is the memory access coalescing - it's dramatically improved over the G80/G92 cores and a lot easier to make rated memory bandwidth.

I don't see a significant increase from upping the thread/block count on my development GTX260 (216sp), so my guess is that the GPU occupancy is shared memory limited, as that hasn't changed to the GT200 cores. Without knowing more about how stuff is done, I can't really offer any advice.

It's about 50% faster than mine on a single hash using similar settings (500ms kernel executions, default thread/block count), and mine doesn't use the CPU. However, my code wasn't aimed at single hash performance, so it's not strictly a perfect comparison. /me bows to BarsMonster's optimizing efficiency

User avatar
schwarzwaldhacker
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 7:18 am
Location: Россия
Contact:

Re: How high can you get

Post by schwarzwaldhacker » Tue Apr 07, 2009 7:39 am

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 (2.13) => Up to 35 each
9800GTX+
VIsta 32
(I guess I used 80 or 128 for the first grid option. And 256 for the second. One option was set to 1500)

Congratulations! I use LHC for many MD5 hashes. nVCuda for Joomla, MYSQL and so on. And I really miss a good GPU Cracker for large DES and FreeBSD MD5 lists. But yours is definitely the best for single hashes!

One Question: The time indicates strange numbers like "4 days 49 hours". Do you have a different time system in Belarus? :D
Attachments
BarsWF-BLACKFOREST.jpg
BarsWF-BLACKFOREST.jpg (27.72 KiB) Viewed 17517 times
Last edited by schwarzwaldhacker on Fri Sep 18, 2009 6:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by BarsMonster » Tue Apr 07, 2009 7:56 am

schwarzwaldhacker wrote:One Question: The time indicates strange numbers like "4 days 49 hours". Do you have a different time system in Russia? :D
Yeah, that was the way how communistic bastards forced prisoners to work more every day :-)
Seriously, that is known issue, and you'll see fix in the nearest CUDA build.

User avatar
schwarzwaldhacker
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 7:18 am
Location: Россия
Contact:

Re: How high can you get

Post by schwarzwaldhacker » Tue Apr 07, 2009 9:28 am

Yeah, that was the way how communistic bastards forced prisoners to work more every day :-)
My RUSSIAN grandfather from the Red Army probably told me, but I forgot... Just joking, he was in the navy! But please hurry up! Because I have been extremely impressed! And it feels like it is going to be the next generation, after good old "John the Ripper". ;)
Last edited by schwarzwaldhacker on Fri Sep 18, 2009 7:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
the_drag0n
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 6:48 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by the_drag0n » Tue Apr 07, 2009 9:34 am

dude its Tuesday . most people have to work today. also you're not the only one waiting and by far not the one waiting for the longest time :)

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by BarsMonster » Mon May 04, 2009 3:57 pm

budden wrote:PPS No -xxx options were used
:str: :str: :str: Achtung, xxx option :crazy:
PS. Nice speeds :-)

D3ad0ne
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 5:37 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by D3ad0ne » Thu Sep 10, 2009 4:46 pm

I know this is an old thread but I finally got around to testing out my setup. This is a core i7 machine with 2X 295s and 1x 280, I am selling my 280 this week and getting another 295. this should put me around 4500M/Hashes a sec. Then I would like to get a 4 pci express board like what x4d3 has and get 4 295s that should get me around 5900 M/hashes a sec.

Is there anyone else that has an updated score?
Attachments
MHash-sec.jpg
MHash-sec.jpg (39.83 KiB) Viewed 15157 times

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by BarsMonster » Fri Sep 11, 2009 11:52 am

D3ad0ne wrote:I know this is an old thread but I finally got around to testing out my setup. This is a core i7 machine with 2X 295s and 1x 280, I am selling my 280 this week and getting another 295. this should put me around 4500M/Hashes a sec. Then I would like to get a 4 pci express board like what x4d3 has and get 4 295s that should get me around 5900 M/hashes a sec.

Is there anyone else that has an updated score?
This thread is never going to be old :-)
OMG, you gonna achieve nice speed :-)
Instead of building 1 monster box, you might want to think about couple of smaller nodes, that's cheaper (no hassle with 4 PCI-E MoBos, 1500W PSU's....).

D3ad0ne
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 5:37 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by D3ad0ne » Fri Sep 11, 2009 12:48 pm

BarsMonster wrote: This thread is never going to be old :-)
OMG, you gonna achieve nice speed :-)
Instead of building 1 monster box, you might want to think about couple of smaller nodes, that's cheaper (no hassle with 4 PCI-E MoBos, 1500W PSU's....).
Your absolutly right, I have another 680i motherboard with a core 2 duo. that has 3 pci-e slots i could use. I still haven't figured out the .save file yet so that I can make it somewhat distributed, and after comparing BarsWF to Elcomsofts I would really like to use BarsWF. I was only getting 2.333 billion/s compaired to 3.712 billion/s.

IvanG
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 12:42 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by IvanG » Fri Sep 11, 2009 3:36 pm

D3ad0ne wrote:Your absolutly right, I have another 680i motherboard with a core 2 duo. that has 3 pci-e slots i could use. I still haven't figured out the .save file yet so that I can make it somewhat distributed, and after comparing BarsWF to Elcomsofts I would really like to use BarsWF. I was only getting 2.333 billion/s compaired to 3.712 billion/s.
Try to attack two (3, 100, 1000) hashes and you'll change your preferences very soon :P. It's funny to have such high speeds for MD5 but way too unpractical to attack only one unsalted MD5 hash at once.

Btw, 2x4870x2 shows 4600M speed (not with BarsWF as it cannot support multiple ATI GPUs). Too bad it's impossible to have more than 4x ATI GPUs at system (driver issue). But upcoming 5870x2 should be 2.2x times faster than 4870x2, so 10 000M will be possible with single system. That's for single MD5 hash, multihashing speed will be around 35% slower, thus ~7300M.

Ferensen
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 8:25 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by Ferensen » Thu Sep 17, 2009 8:54 am

BarsMonster wrote:Still want to see i7 with HT on and off in 64-bit mode :-)
a little late, but i played around with barswf, read the forum pages here and now heres the result.
seems like HT is even gettin more performance from your code. tried it several times, always about 30MHashes/s more with HT enabled.
also tried different -grid_n and thread_n settings, always alot lower (gpu-)performance than just keepin standard settings.
how about that ? :joy: seems that intel did a fairly good job with that HT stuff..(at least i doesnt mean lower performace with barswf).

you did a nice piece of work. thumbs up!
Attachments
ht.png
i7 with HT enabled on Vista64
ht_disabled.png
i7 with HT disabled on Vista64

Sc00bz
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 8:28 am
Contact:

Re: How high can you get

Post by Sc00bz » Thu Sep 17, 2009 8:55 pm

P4s are faster with HT off. So it looks like they made HT better.

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by BarsMonster » Thu Sep 17, 2009 11:31 pm

Ferensen wrote:
BarsMonster wrote:Still want to see i7 with HT on and off in 64-bit mode :-)
a little late, but i played around with barswf, read the forum pages here and now heres the result.
Nice, +6% with HT :-)
Now I am starting to like these iX processors, maybe even get one of i5's (when they would get to 32nm :crazy:) :-)

Tal
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 9:06 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by Tal » Fri Sep 18, 2009 2:30 am

BarsMonster wrote:
Ferensen wrote:
BarsMonster wrote:Still want to see i7 with HT on and off in 64-bit mode :-)
a little late, but i played around with barswf, read the forum pages here and now heres the result.
Nice, +6% with HT :-)
Now I am starting to like these iX processors, maybe even get one of i5's (when they would get to 32nm :crazy:) :-)
Get an I9 with 8 (2 disabled) cores. If you can afford the $1000+ price tag :crazy:

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by BarsMonster » Fri Sep 18, 2009 8:50 am

Tal wrote:Get an I9 with 8 (2 disabled) cores. If you can afford the $1000+ price tag :crazy:
Well, I am still missing 400$ that I've spent on Opteron 165 and Core2Duo E8500, which I never really needed :-)
So I doubt I would be happy with i9 :crazy:

D3ad0ne
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 5:37 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by D3ad0ne » Wed Sep 23, 2009 12:05 am

New personal best... 4443.84 MHash/sec
Attachments
barsWF_bench.JPG
barsWF_bench.JPG (38.23 KiB) Viewed 15185 times

fotbollsplan
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 7:38 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: How high can you get

Post by fotbollsplan » Tue Sep 29, 2009 6:27 pm

ASUS P6T7 WS SuperComputer
7xPCI-Ex(2.0)x16

7 x GTX295? :crazy: :crazy: :crazy: :crazy: :crazy: :crazy: :crazy: :crazy: :crazy: :crazy: :crazy: :crazy:

Post Reply
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest