[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 580: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/phpbb/session.php on line 636: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
3.14.by forum • How high can you get
Page 1 of 11

How high can you get

Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:21 am
by x4d3
Just to share the numbers with the community. I am doing some tweak on the hardware and software. Should post new screenshots in the next few days with the new numbers.

Expect to get around 3.9 billions/s for MD5.

This is only one machine. A cluster of those is on the way. All credits to Michail for the code.

4x [eVGA 9800GX2] (no oc)
ImageImage
Image

Please post the card model and if it is overclocked or not. Thank you.

Edit: included the card models.

UPDATE 02/24/2009: Go to this post for new numbers http://3.14.by/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8& ... 1643#p1643 .

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 7:07 am
by the_drag0n
woooh nice ;) will you join the distributed project ? ;)

with maximum overclocking (cpu 400Mhz gpu 100/100 Mhz more) i get up to 411

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 7:14 am
by Frankie00rz
ripped from RaidRush Forum

GeForce 8800 GTS 512
Image

BFG GTX260
Image

gf 8600 gt 1gb ram
Image

XFX 9800GX2
Image

8600 GT 256 mb
Image

GeForce 9500 GS
Image

8800GTS
Image

more ppl to post yah benchs now !!! ;-)

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 7:24 am
by the_drag0n
it was more about posting your bench rather then posting other's ;)

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 8:04 am
by Sc00bz
I like the first image x4d3 posted. The one that is a total ripoff of BarSW including the error with the first three lines of boarders being white instead of gray. Well that and the fact that it is 1/2 the speed.

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 8:37 am
by the_drag0n
errm its a mscache bruteforcer and prob it was written by bars ;)

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 9:55 am
by BarsMonster
x4d3 wrote:Expect to get around 3.9 billions/s for MD5.
I vote for 4.05 billions :-)

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 10:45 am
by easteregg
this projekt is highly intel optimized, isnt it?
my opterons reaching about 10mio. per sec, at 2,2ghz...

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 10:48 am
by the_drag0n
erm thats not to much...
my cpu gets 25mio per core @ 2,2GHz
and 32mio per core @ 2,6GHz...

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:03 pm
by easteregg
intel or amd?

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:34 pm
by the_drag0n
amd phenom 9550

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 1:15 pm
by BarsMonster
Well, it is not specifically optimized for intel, but SSE2 engine of Core2Duo processors is very very nice. It does 3 128bit instructions per cycle, that is awesome.
For example Intel Atom has very weak SSE2 core, so it is veeeeery slooooow on it.
Update: Intel P4 also does not look very good here

PS. E8500@4Ghz does 74 mio per core :crazy:

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 1:17 pm
by kiando
How to you access the SSE2 engine? Via assembler or are there c routines?

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 1:20 pm
by BarsMonster
kiando wrote:How to you access the SSE2 engine? Via assembler or are there c routines?
C++ intrinsics. Like this: (_mm_or_si128(_mm_and_si128(x,y), _mm_andnot_si128(x, z)))

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 2:36 pm
by x4d3
Sc00bz wrote:I like the first image x4d3 posted. The one that is a total ripoff of BarSW including the error with the first three lines of boarders being white instead of gray. Well that and the fact that it is 1/2 the speed.

It's all Bars, sir. :)

No ripoff.

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:03 pm
by B0ff
BarsWF.JPG
Q6600, 2GB RAM, 2x 8600GT SLI, nothing oc
Could probably be better but vast improvement (around 16x) over what I was getting with previous tools :joy:

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:08 pm
by hardfalcon
WOW, I wouldn't have thought a 8600GT has just 25% of a 8800GT... :shock:

Already looking forward to the version with ATI support, I'm seriously considering to sell my 8800GT and get a 4870 (perhaps even an 4870 X2)... :)

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 5:32 pm
by BarsMonster
hardfalcon wrote:WOW, I wouldn't have thought a 8600GT has just 25% of a 8800GT... :shock:
That's right, 32SP vs 112 :-)

If you want AMD card for GPGPU I guess 4850 would give you the same performance for less $ :-)
Hmm... Do they have 4850x2? That would be awesome thing :-)
Update: 4850x2 exist, for fraction of price difference between 4850x2 and 4870x2 you can get 4850x2 pre-overclocked with improved cooler :crazy:

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 5:34 pm
by BarsMonster
B0ff wrote:
BarsWF.JPG
Q6600, 2GB RAM, 2x 8600GT SLI, nothing oc
Could probably be better but vast improvement (around 16x) over what I was getting with previous tools :joy:
Disable SLI and you'll get extra 90 MHash/sec :-)

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 6:30 pm
by B0ff
Disable SLI and you'll get extra 90 MHash/sec :-)
Now I'm even more impressed.. :shock:
BarsWF_2.JPG

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 7:28 pm
by BarsMonster
Ok, here goes my thing:
Core2Duo E8500 3.16->4Ghz
9600GT 650->769Mhz

Image

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 11:29 pm
by blazer
E8500 @ 3.16Ghz
9800GTX+ @ Stock Speeds

Image


p.s Hey bars did you get 20m more than me per core because of the o/c or of the 64bit?

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 12:14 am
by BarsMonster
blazer wrote:E8500 @ 3.16Ghz
9800GTX+ @ Stock Speeds

p.s Hey bars did you get 20m more than me per core because of the o/c or of the 64bit?
Both

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:35 am
by c4p0ne
I need at least 40 Teraflops... Anyone offering? :wall: :lol:

Re: How high can you get

Posted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:45 am
by c4p0ne
By the way, question... What kind of performance are we looking forward to in the upcoming Intel CORE i7 Octacore (actually, 4 cores with 2 threads/per core hyperthreading has reappeared) architecture? Also, we know about about the use of SSE2 instruction set to accelerate calculations, but what about SSE3, SSE4 and upcoming SSE4.1 and SSE4.2?