Status of the ATI GPU Version ?

Moderator: BarsMonster

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Status of the ATI GPU Version ?

Post by BarsMonster » Tue Jan 06, 2009 1:56 am

DarkPrince wrote:
BarsMonster wrote:Brook beta
http://3.14.by/files/BarsWF_Brook_x64.zip

Let me know if you have any problems. Let it find 5-10 passwords on your hardware.
Don't be scared that it reserves 1 CPU core just for AMD card.
Please post your speed here :-)
Hardware supported: 2xxx, 3xxx, 4xxx (i hope :crazy:)
too bad that i have x32 :(
Check it out again :-)

DarkPrince
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 5:50 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Status of the ATI GPU Version ?

Post by DarkPrince » Tue Jan 06, 2009 2:00 am

cant find amdcalcl.dll?

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Status of the ATI GPU Version ?

Post by BarsMonster » Tue Jan 06, 2009 2:12 am

You'll need very latest AMD drivers for that, looks like dll is part of the driver.

Spaztikdude
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 1:27 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Status of the ATI GPU Version ?

Post by Spaztikdude » Tue Jan 06, 2009 2:31 am

Does this mean you'll finally get to work on the distributed version?

:P

Performance on the 4870 seems to surpass the equivalent nvidia cards by far...

Irythros
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 10:00 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Status of the ATI GPU Version ?

Post by Irythros » Tue Jan 06, 2009 4:11 am

Note: Was only testing speed, not stability. That will be done later. The program maxes my card it lags the entire machine :lol:

Lowest on card: 995m
Highest on card: 1030m
CPU: ~16m sustained

Computer specs:


OS: Windows XP Home SP1 (32bit)
Processes running: Minimal. Excess process only being skype and firefox (~16 processes total)

RAM: Crucial 2x1 gig sticks DDR2 800
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4
Hard drive: SATA Western Digital 250gb

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Black Edition [Overclocked]
Core volt: 1.472 (According to cpuZ, I think its actually lower)
Core speed: 3183.1mHZ
Multiplier: 15x
Bus speed: 212.2
HT Link: 1061mhz

GPU: Sapphire Radeon 4850 [Overclocked]
Core Clock: 750
Mem clock: 1050
Fan speed: 100%


Edit:
Tested with hashes multiple combinations of words (first upper rest lower, all lower, number at beggining, number at end etc) without error and all found.
Last edited by Irythros on Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

asl
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 4:14 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Status of the ATI GPU Version ?

Post by asl » Tue Jan 06, 2009 10:06 am

OS: Windows XP Home Edition SP 3 (32bit)
Prozessor: Intel Core Duo E8400 @ 3.00GHZ
Mainboard: ASUSteK Computer INC. P5K/EPU
RAM: DDR2-RAM 2 GB PC800 Kingston VR CL6 (2x = 4 GB)
GraKa: PCIe Radeon 4870 Sapphire 512MB DDR5 256bit 2x DVI/HDTV

It's lagging :|



On windows 7 it doesn't work
Attachments
x.PNG
x.PNG (18.08 KiB) Viewed 16438 times

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Status of the ATI GPU Version ?

Post by BarsMonster » Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:42 am

asl wrote:It's lagging :|

On windows 7 it doesn't work
lagging - how?
windows 7 - what does it say?

It would be nice if someone with 3xxx or 2xxx would test it :-)

Supx
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:58 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Status of the ATI GPU Version ?

Post by Supx » Tue Jan 06, 2009 12:13 pm

CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @2.4Ghz
GPU: Sapphire HD4870 512MB @750/900
RAM: 4GB DDR2 800Mhz
OS: XP Pro SP3 32bit

Image

It works, but only 3 cores are detected (in the normal version it does 40MHash/sec on each core, total: 160Mhash/sec) and it lags.

asl
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 4:14 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Status of the ATI GPU Version ?

Post by asl » Tue Jan 06, 2009 12:36 pm

100 % cpu usage. There's a delay when i click or open something. and a delay when i close BarsWF_Brook and my cursor doesn't move normal.
windows 7 - what does it say?
It's because of the drivers i think. It says that im missing amdcalcl.dll. I tried to install ATI Catalyst Driver for Vista but it didn't work :)

http://img165.imageshack.us/my.php?imag ... 226kw2.png

Windows 7 hasn't released yet so there is no need to search the problem. :P

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Status of the ATI GPU Version ?

Post by BarsMonster » Tue Jan 06, 2009 2:12 pm

1 cpu core reserved for Brook, probably I need to display that in UI somehow...

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Status of the ATI GPU Version ?

Post by BarsMonster » Tue Jan 06, 2009 2:13 pm

Would like to see more results on 2xxx and 3xxx :-)

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Status of the ATI GPU Version ?

Post by BarsMonster » Tue Jan 06, 2009 2:22 pm

It's lagging because of gpu_time parameter is ignored right now, this will be fixed before 0.9 release.

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Status of the ATI GPU Version ?

Post by BarsMonster » Tue Jan 06, 2009 2:40 pm

Memory freq have very little impact on performance (but it is interesting, how little).
4850 & 70 are almost the same, difference is only in clocks.

roflkopter
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 3:38 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Status of the ATI GPU Version ?

Post by roflkopter » Tue Jan 06, 2009 3:42 pm

When i launch the program, the GPU and the CPU don't do anything. The computer freezes, the speaker does a beep and after a few seconds the screen turns black and returns with the Windows Taskmanager.

I'm using a ATI RADEON HD3450 and a AMD Phenom X4 9850BE ~2.5GHz

:(

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Status of the ATI GPU Version ?

Post by BarsMonster » Tue Jan 06, 2009 3:44 pm

roflkopter wrote:When i launch the program, the GPU and the CPU don't do anything. The computer freezes, the speaker does a beep and after a few seconds the screen turns black and returns with the Windows Taskmanager.

I'm using a ATI RADEON HD3450 and a AMD Phenom X4 9850BE ~2.5GHz

:(
Hmm.. Could you try to run FurMark with antialasing =0x for 5 minutes? This beep might be sign of instability...
Also, did you installed very last AMD drivers?

roflkopter
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 3:38 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Status of the ATI GPU Version ?

Post by roflkopter » Tue Jan 06, 2009 4:03 pm

Yes, I've installed the driver else the program wouldn't start.

Here's the result:

FPS: Min=3 - Avg=5 - Max=11
Run Mode: Stability Test - MSAA=0X - Frames=1496 - Time=301 sec
Renderer: ATI Radeon HD 3400 Series
GPU Temperatur: 92°C / 197°F

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Status of the ATI GPU Version ?

Post by BarsMonster » Tue Jan 06, 2009 4:04 pm

1) Do you use 32 or 64 bit version?
2) Try small charset, like -c 0

roflkopter
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 3:38 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Status of the ATI GPU Version ?

Post by roflkopter » Tue Jan 06, 2009 4:12 pm

1) 32 Bit

Now its calculating hashes but it's also freezed and beeps every ~10sec.
With charset only numbers its working (and lagging) but my CPU is 4 times faster than my GPU ~.~
CPU about 30 Mhashes, GPU 6/7 MHashes.
Image


Is my card really that worse? :)

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Status of the ATI GPU Version ?

Post by BarsMonster » Tue Jan 06, 2009 4:27 pm

roflkopter wrote:1) 32 Bit

Now its calculating hashes but it's also freezed and beeps every ~10sec.
With charset only numbers its working (and lagging) but my CPU is 4 times faster than my GPU ~.~
CPU about 30 Mhashes, GPU 6/7 MHashes.
Image


Is my card really that worse? :)
It should be 30-40 times slower than 4870, so you should get around 30Mhash on the card, but it defenetly should not "beep", I'll release updated version a little later, we'll see if it would help...

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Status of the ATI GPU Version ?

Post by BarsMonster » Tue Jan 06, 2009 4:34 pm

Actually Phenom x4 should show much higher results :-S Probably it caused by GPU-hangups...

DarkPrince
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 5:50 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Status of the ATI GPU Version ?

Post by DarkPrince » Tue Jan 06, 2009 5:16 pm

what ever i do i just can't find the amdcalcl.dll... guess ill stick with my nVidia :P

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Status of the ATI GPU Version ?

Post by BarsMonster » Tue Jan 06, 2009 5:20 pm

DarkPrince wrote:what ever i do i just can't find the amdcalcl.dll... guess ill stick with my nVidia :P
Did you downloaded & installed very last AMD drivers?

DarkPrince
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 5:50 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Status of the ATI GPU Version ?

Post by DarkPrince » Tue Jan 06, 2009 5:39 pm

BarsMonster wrote:
DarkPrince wrote:what ever i do i just can't find the amdcalcl.dll... guess ill stick with my nVidia :P
Did you downloaded & installed very last AMD drivers?
yeah

User avatar
BarsMonster
Site Admin
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 7:58 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Status of the ATI GPU Version ?

Post by BarsMonster » Tue Jan 06, 2009 5:56 pm

DarkPrince wrote:
BarsMonster wrote:
DarkPrince wrote:what ever i do i just can't find the amdcalcl.dll... guess ill stick with my nVidia :P
Did you downloaded & installed very last AMD drivers?
yeah
What card do you have, and what is exact driver version?

DarkPrince
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 5:50 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Status of the ATI GPU Version ?

Post by DarkPrince » Tue Jan 06, 2009 6:43 pm

BarsMonster wrote:
What card do you have, and what is exact driver version?
Had my friends card, cant remember what it was now but i gave it back to him...

Only got ATI mobility radeon x1400 in my laptop...

Or do you think i can use that one to? lol

Post Reply
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest