BarsFA - 4-transistor full adder

For my transistor-computer project (which is already going for 3 years) I needed compact implementations for most of common digital blocks, and full adder - is one of the most important among these.

Canonical implementation of CMOS full adder takes 28 transistors:


Modern implementations using transmission gate and number of tricks reduce this number down to 8-11, with more strict requirements for transistor selection. These schemes usually could not be used with discrete transistors, as they use 4-terminal transistors, and suffer from degradation of logical 1 level, which becomes even more severe with discrete transistors as they have Vt=1.5-2 compared to ~0.5V for integrated transistors.

The smallest full adder I've seen was using 6 transistors and capacitors at inputs - but I am not sure how to make it work reliable in real-world. Known implementation using bipolar transistors - also using 22 transistors.

But can you make it using only 4 transistors? After thinking and trying few variants, i've got the following schematic working:


Simulated waveforms:


You can download schematic for simulation in LTspice IV here.

How it works? As order of terms is not important, we can just mix them in analog way, and by tuning threshold voltage of double inverter easily get carry. Then we can subtract carry from analog sum using Q3 - and we are getting sum. Surely, this all requires threshold voltages tuning and simulation across temperature range as it's quite sensitive to transistor selection, resistor values and temperature. Schottky diodes are here to prevent transistor saturation, which significantly reduce performance.

One could use MOSFET's - this will provide better temperature stability, but these transistors must have quite low Vt.

RSS@BarsMonster3@14.by

BarsFA - полный сумматор на 4-х транзисторах

Для своего многолетнего хобби-проекта транзисторного компьютера требовались компактные реализации всех основных цифровых блоков, и полный сумматор - один из наиболее важных.

Каноническая реализация КМОП полного сумматора - требует 28 транзисторов:


Современные реализации с использованием transmission gate и различных хитростей - требуют 8-11 транзисторов с более жесткими требованиями к выбору транзисторов, но напрямую из дискретных транзисторов эти схемы не реализовать - нужны 4-х выводные транзисторы (а они редкость), и из-за деградации уровня логической 1 нужно высокое напряжение питания (т.к. пороговое напряжение доступных дискретных полевых транзисторов - 1.5-2 вольта против 0.5В у интегральных транзисторов).

Самый минимум, который приходилось видеть - из 6 транзисторов, с использованием конденсаторов (но надежность вызывает вопросы). Известные реализации на биполярных транзисторах - также требуют 22 транзистора.

Но можно ли обойтись всего 4 транзисторами? Я немного пораскинул мозгами, и получилось следующее:


Графики работы:


Схему для симуляции в LTspice IV можно скачать тут.

Принцип работы следующий: т.к. порядок слагаемых не имеет значения, мы их просто аналогово смешиваем, и точно подбирая пороговое напряжение сдвоенного инвертора - сразу получаем перенос. Затем вычитая на транзисторе Q3 из аналоговой суммы перенос - получаем сумму. Конечно, все это требует точного подбора уровней срабатывания, и симуляции с учетом температуры. Диоды Шоттки - для предотвращения входа транзисторов в глубокое насыщение, что резко снижает скорость работы.

Использование полевых транзисторов возможно, и обеспечивает лучшую температурную стабильность, главное чтобы у них было достаточно низкое пороговое напряжение.

RSS@BarsMonster3@14.by