Sun photography

Today I bought Baader AstroSolar filter for sun observation - it reduces brightness by a factor of 100'000 (OD5).
The following photo was made by Sony 500mm/F8 lens and A77ii - my first semi-transparent mirror camera: finally I can observe the sun without fear of retina burn if something happens with the filter.

Exposure which allows to see the spots is 1/800 at ISO100/F8, without filter it would require exposure of 1/80'000'000 seconds - which is unrealistic. Full 14-bit resolution is needed to see the spots without excessive noise. In the future it might be beneficial to normalize sun brightness variation across the area - this should help with the spots close to the edges.

Sun is currently near maximum of it's activity - but on this photo we can only observe 3 tiny spots, that's abnormally low. During maximum activity total number of spots could reach 250 - this should be more spectacular.

I remember first time when I tried to observe sun ~7 years ago with 50mm/30x spyglass and floppy disk "filter". I made a fatal mistake then: i placed "filter" on the eyepiece side, and obviously sun immediately burned through it as soon as I found the sun. Luckily, it didn't get retina burn that time.



RSS@BarsMonster3@14.by

Фотография Солнца

Купил фильтр с пленкой Baader AstroSolar для наблюдения солнца - он ослабляет яркость в 100'000 раз (OD5).
Снимал на Sony 500mm/F8 и A77ii - мой первый фотоаппарат с полупрозрачным зеркалом: наконец-то можно смотреть на солнце не опасаясь получить ожег сетчатки, если ветром сдует фильтр - матрица солнечный свет выдерживает спокойно.

Выдержка при которой солнечный диск не передержан, и видны пятна - 1/800 на ISO100/F8, без фильтра выдержка требовалась бы 1/80'000'000 сек.- что конечно нереально. "Вытащить" эти пятна без полного ужаса шумов можно только из RAW - нужны все 14 бит с матрицы фотоаппарата. В будущем можно еще сделать нормализацию яркости солнца по площади - иначе пятна на краях диска видно не будет.

Не смотря на то, что солнце сейчас близко к максимуму активности - на снимке видно всего 3 маленьких пятнышка - аномально низкая активность, в максимуме - бывает до 250 (на обоих полушариях), это зрелище обещает быть более захватывающим.

А первый раз лет 7 назад я пробовал смотреть на солнце через фильтр из дискеты и подзорную трубы 50mm/30x - "фильтр" был со стороны окуляра, и это было моей фатальной ошибкой: солнце естественно мгновенно прожгло "фильтр", хорошо хоть труба была диаметром всего 50мм.


RSS@BarsMonster3@14.by